The Ultimate Shift Dress Goes Casual

Did I tell yoIMG_1310u how much I like my ultimate shift dress?  Well I made another.

This one is made out of a dark grey cotton flannel I bought in Raystitch sometime ago.  They have a lovely selection of Brannock and Patek flannels  – all ripe for making Toast like pyjamas.  To add cosiness I lined the dress in a cherry red muslin from Cloth House.

I avoided the problems I had with the last dress by using a waxed cotton cord (also from Raystitich) to make a little loop for a button.  Also I felt the facing on the last dress needed some interfacing, so I used the muslin on this dress to give it a bit of body.

Are there any patterns you enjoy remaking?

 

 

4 thoughts on “The Ultimate Shift Dress Goes Casual

  1. I’m going through a repeat pattern stage! I’ve got plans to do a winter In the Fold Rushcutter and I’m in the middle of my second Charlotte Kan Tie Dress. Now that I’m finally sewing successful garments, I know what I’m reaching for in the morning and will get the most wear!

  2. To have a pattern that fits and I like the shape of it on me is the holy grail. It is such a pleasure to sew, relax into it, knowing that all the work will not be in vain. I suspect the ultimate dress may be one of those. They are quite rare for me and are usually the very simple ones. My most repeated ones are the Hemlock tee from Grainline and a Mccalls pencil skirt 3830 and if I had the time, I would happily remake the Archer shirt again and again.

Leave a Reply

