British Sewing Bee 3

Have you been watching the British Sewing Bee? I’m rather behind here as I’ve only just got around to watching the final.

Previous series have left me rather cold; I couldn’t see myself being inspired to make any of the garments or have a go at any of the techniques.  This series has been different though; from the welt pockets on the waistcoat, to the leather jacket and lace skirt the challenges were technically more exciting and had the potential to turn into something fabulous.  I can’t imagine that I am ever going to be in the position where I need to make a kilt but having seen one made I’d love to have a go.  Was I the only person googling the asymetric t-shirt in the last episode and ordering a copy of Drape Drape 2 before they’d even finished making it up?

I still think the time challenge is frustrating, the whole point of sewing is to take your time and get it right, even if it involves spending an unhealthy amount of time with your unpicker.  But this is television and giving people days or weeks to make a garment would be rather boring.

I was also frustrated that Neil didn’t win, he was consistently the best sewer in the competition, turning out one beautiful garment after another.  Both Matt and Lorna were great sewers but they didn’t have Neil’s consistency.  Had Neil not tried so hard in the last episode I am sure he would have won.

What did you think?  Did you enjoy the series or just not bother watching it?  Who would you have chosen to win?

2 thoughts on “British Sewing Bee 3

  1. I loved it. Ordered the book after just two or three episodes.
    I don’t have access to BBC so I missed series 2 (so good that BBC posted series 3 to YouTube!). I agree that Neil could’ve won. He just was too experimental in that last episode. Matt’s lantern dress was totally fabulous though. Based on that last episode, Matt was the right one to win, IMO. But Neil, with different choices, could have too.

  2. Neil was more consistent and to me, that makes him the better sewer and true winner. I don’t like that a lot of these competition shows usually base the winner on the current project(s) rather than their whole body of work. I find it disappointing but not enough to stop watching 😊

Leave a Reply

