Janome love

♥♥♥

You may remember that a few months ago I had a (significant) birthday.  What I didn’t tell you was that Hugo, my lovely partner, decided to give me a new sewing machine!  I spent a lot of time trying to decide which one to go for and eventually settled on this – a Janome DC3050 from John Lewis.

I chose it because I’d used the same one on a course I did several years ago, at the time I loved the fact that it was easy to control, didn’t run away with me and just did everything I asked of it.  Since then I have found I love several more things about this machine:

  • It makes the most fabulous buttonholes.  Buttonholes on domestic machines are often a bit of a disappointment in my experience.  I’ve read that the industry uses commercial buttonhole making machines and this probably explains why the buttonholes I’ve made in the past just don’t look as good.  This machine has three types of buttonhole and all come out looking wonderful; well defined lines of stitching and fully even on both sides.  The buttonhole foot has a place for you to put your button  so you can be sure you are making the hole the right length (probably common on modern machines but my other electric machines date from the 1980s so don’t have this)
  • Automatic threading  – yes, for those of us with poor eyesight this really is a godsend. There is a little bar that you pull down next to the needle, you pass your thread over the bar and the machine sends a tiny little hook through the needle’s eye which threads it automatically. So clever, I think the machine is worth it for this alone!
  • Auto thread tension – I didn’t really pay much attention to this when I decided to buy the machine, but it is a godsend!  What auto thread tension means is that it handles any fabric without you having to fiddle around with the tension – perfect stitching every time.

 I have had a couple of problems.  Firstly, I tried using top stitching thread and found it didn’t really like it. I put the top stitching thread in the needle but used ordinary thread in the bobbin.  It did manage to get some pretty good stitching but a couple of times it pulled the bobbin up out of the case, which can’t be good.  Secondly I wanted to try using a twin needle, it’s advertised as being suitable for a twin needle but the instruction manual doesn’t tell you how, the big problem is that I can’t see where you put your second reel of thread.  I’m planning to ask John Lewis to advise me on this one.

Anyway I couldn’t ask for a better present and if anyone is thinking of buying a new machine I can definitely recommend this one.

24 thoughts on “Janome love

  1. Oooooh, how timely!! I’m getting my new machine tomorrow at a sewing expo. I went today and checked some of them out and I think I’m going to go for the 2030 QDC. I will look up yours and see how it differs. congrats on your new machine!

  2. Congratulations on your new baby!!

    Your Janome seems to share some elements with my Elna and some of my new accessories like the walking foot are made by Janome.

    My automatic threader stopped working years ago and I’ve not had enough other things going wrong to justify the hassle of taking it for a service.

    On top of my Elna next to the thread holder is a little square cup-shaped space where I insert a vertical reel holder (in accessories box) for the second spool.

    Wishing you and your Janome a very creative future together.

  3. I’ve had my DC3050 for about 3 years now, and I am still finding things it can do that I didn’t realise. I did try every one of it’s stitches and keep them for reference! I bought a Universal zipper foot though (I don’t know anyone who can use that stumpy thing) and worried about the needle hitting it but was told that you can move the needle from side to side in increments (in stitch No 2) and I often use the No 2 setting instead of putting the zipper foot on.

    I was told (by Janome UK) to put the 2nd thread for a twin needle on the spare spool – the one which is handy for winding a bobbin without disturbing the top thread – but I have not actually tried it yet. I have used the auto buttonhole and it was very good – I went over it twice as they suggested. I’ve used the blind hem stitch for curtains. I do a lot of applique with it, and I love the way you can control the speed. I make bags, and it handles the extra thickness really well.

    I have collected several extra feet for it. I bought a walking foot – the wide toe one – then realised there was a standard toe one. I found it really useful but the wide toe was awkward so my next birthday present was the standard toe one! I bought the darning foot to try freestyle machine embroidery. The bias binding foot was great, I went round an entire apron and I’m about to try making my own piping for a bag.

    So if you want any help, just ask – the Janome U.K. people are very helpful too –
    Karen
    http://www.flickr.com/photos/auntystitches/
    http://sew-whats-new.com/profile/KarenWetherall

  4. Thanks for the Janome tips I am 2 days into a new Janome QXL605 after having an old 30 year old Singer! With so many stitches now to choose from I really am spoilt for choice- jo

  5. I have this same machine and was wondering if you ever had any success with twin needle sewing? I have lots of dress patterns for stretch fabric and I would love to give them that professional finish, but after (finally) working out to put the second spool to the left of the standard spool in the square slot, I just cant get it to work. I have tried threading it with both threads at a time, separately, and it just ends up a mess so I have taken to having to bind everything, which is time consuming and just not what I want for the hem of a summer dress. The only think I can think of is that the threads I am using are not exactly the same. I may have to stop past John Lewis on my way home tonight and buy two shiny new reels of white thread! Any input would really be greatly received, I have got back into sewing over the last few years and I really want to be able to make my own clothes! Thanks, Gemma xo

  6. Hi Gemma,

    Yes it’s odd that they don’t mention it in the book. I asked John Lewis to phone Janome for me on this one and they suggested using the second spool holder as you have done. Like you I didn’t have much success with this and found that the thread was getting tangled under the spool. I managed to get reasonably good results but holding the thread in my hand which is not ideal.

    Other sewing machines suggest you feed your second thread down the other side of the tension holder than your main thread. I don’t know if this works as I haven’t tried it but it might be worth playing with. Alternatively It’s back to John Lewis’s service department.

    Let me know how you get on!

  7. This thread is quite old but I found it while looking for hints in using a twin needle for knits on my Janome DC3050. Did you ever figure out a good solution?
    Thank you!

    • I managed to work out where the second bobbin should go (there is a spare holder which sits in one of the holes on the top over to the left) but I find that when I use it the threads get tangled. There must be a better way to do this!

      • Gosh you live and learn! That’s what that square hole is for? Thank you and I’m off to the fabric shop to see if I can get a needle if not I’ll order one. I’m so happy ha ha.

      • not sure if you resolved this but I’ve seen people wind the spare bobbin with top thread and used it rather than a seperate roll of thread. that way it wont tangle. Worth a shot. I’m going to give that a go soon.

  8. I’ve just stumbled upon you too trying to get an answer as to whether I can use a twin needle with my DC3050. I would love to know what you found out.

    • Hi, Maureen–
      I think we can! I ordered a Schmetz stretch twin needle (4.0.75) after reading other blogs. I won’t have time to give it a go until the weekend, but I’ll post here after I’ve had a chance to experiment.
      Exciting

      • Fantastic! If I can get a needle locally I might get a chance to try this week as I’m on holiday but please let me know what happens to you.

      • It works! I bought a twin needle this afternoon and tried it and it’s great. I’m not sure the tension is great on the spool but it looks fab on the top so I finished my blouse with it this afternoon. Soooo pleased so thanks again for the info on where to put the second spool – a revelation!

      • I managed to get it working and it’s brilliant. I thought the tension was off on the bobbin but it seems what I got is normal. Happy days. Thank you for the information about the second spool position.

  9. Hi, just read your post as I thought it would relate to something I was trying to find out.
    It doesn’t but I saw your comment about twin needles- you should have got an extra spool pin with the machine. There is a square hole on the top back of the machine more towards the needle end, on the left…this is where the extra spool pin goes with your second needle spool on it.

Leave a Reply

