Help!

In a fit of madness I decided to eschew using facing for this top and instead finished the neckline with bias binding. To make matters worse (OK this is really embarrassing) I decided to use my overlocker to speed up the process – why, why, why – and now the neckline is stretched (yes I had stay stitched it but I still managed to stretch it).

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

It’s a silk crepe so not the easiest fabric to unpick. I still have about a quarter of a metre left which I could use for facing. Alternatively I could put a collar on it, however it has to be a proper adult collar, I’m still firmly of the belief that no one over the age of 10 should dress like Peter Pan.

What do you think? Can I rescue it?

20 thoughts on “Help!

  1. I think it looks good. I think these things are so much more noticeable to the person who sews then than the rest of the world – particularly as they mostly don’t sew! Plough on!!

  2. Maybe you could try again but with a bigger neckline. There’s a May Martin (Sewing Bee) tutorial for how to do this by marking with pins on dummy before making the cut. Good luck.

  3. Cut off the binding and overlocking and use a facing. Lesson learned not to overlock a circular edge or anything cut on the bias or indeed an edge which is going to be encased. Think you are overlooked happy since you mastered it !

  4. Neat pelican print fabric. Have you tried giving the neckline area a blast of steam from your iron. It may shrink up a bit. I would also try inserting some ribbon or narrow elastic in the bias binding ( using it as a casing) at an opening made by unpicking the bias binding center back seam and try drawing the neckline in. It might have a slight gathered look, but you can say it is a design feature. I have sewn bias to a neckline with a serge successfully. However before I did it, I prepressed and shaped the bias to the exact, curve of the unstretched, staystiched length of the neckline, and basted it in place before serging.

  5. Oh, dear! I’ve done this, too on garments! If this were my blouse, I’d unpick the binding very carefully, press the neck edge flat and clean up any raggedness before staystitching it again. You may need to draw up the staystitching to bring the neck edge back into shape. Then steam shrink it back into shape – no touching the fabric with the iron! This takes patience and you may need to steam it a bit, leave it to cool and come back to it several times! Then I’d try again with the bias binding, which I think is more flattering than facings on a neckline like this. Only I think I’d carefully (slowly) stitch the binding, turn it to the inside, and finish it by hand. The control you have over the fabric is perfect when stitching by hand, and on a neckline such as this, that is very important, IMHO. 🙂

    Good luck!

  6. If you are really worried about the fabric unraveling, I would take the easy road. Use your left over fabric and make a long fabric tube. Tack the middle of the tube to center neck and slowly hand stich tube all the way around on both sides. Leave the center 3 inches in the front open . Tie ends. You’ve just made a pussy bow blouse that will hide the stretched out fabric and add detail to the neck line.

  7. Could you perhaps turn the whole neck binding inside the top and then either very carefully machine sew it down, or catch-stitch by hand. I absolutely detest unpicking and I will confess to having a couple of skirts with a triple folded hem because I hemmed them slightly too long the first time.

  8. May be you can draw a slightly larger neckline and re-sew with bias binding using the leftover fabric? Stitch the bias to the neckline with right side together to turn the binding to inside and topstitch?

  9. That fabric is beautiful. If you think the neckline is now too low through stretching, one option to rescue it is by making a folded, stand-up neckband, basically a mid-width rectangle of fabric, short edges stitched together, folded along the long length, and stitched around the neckline.

  10. Pingback: Pelicans | Jane's Sew & Tell

Leave a Reply

