Report card

Looking back on the post I wrote on January 1 with my top 5 sewing goals for 2013 (actually turned out to be top 6) I see that I am not doing to badly: goals 1 (making tops for work) and 5 (more knitting) need more work but the others are well in hand.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAGoal  2 was to make a jacket which I’ve done.  Goal 3 was to get to grips with my overlocker, which I’ve also done, the basic functions anyway  – I’ve used it to neaten seams and sew knits up and I can thread it which is probably the only complicated part of using an overlocker.  Goal 6 was about waistbands and I can report that the waistbands on the three spring skirts I made for me and the girls are all perfect, only one of these skirts had a traditional waistband but I managed to make it up neatly with no additional bulk or problems due to fitting it the wrong way round.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAThis leaves goal number 4 – drafting clothes with my blocks.  I came away from my courses at Raystitch full of inspiration and enthusiasm but somehow the reality of drafting clothes from the blocks has proved more difficult than I thought.  I understand the basic principles but like everything else in life it clearly takes a bit of practice to get them right.

I started out drafting a pair of trousers but somehow my block, which fitted perfectly in the class, now doesn’t seem to fit at all.  I have too much fabric in the front crotch and the thighs have mysteriously shrunk (the alternative is that my body has got bigger but I don’t think that’s the case).  I think I can fix these problems but I need a day to play with it.

I then tried to make a blouse with a pleated neckline.  These necklines have been everywhere this last year and in theory they should be simple to recreate.   Drafting it looked easy but unfortunately when I put it on I found I’d managed to place the outer pleats in such a way that they created a very unflattering fold which ran out to my arm pit.  In disgust I have put the blouse away.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAWhat I needed was a very simple project to help me get my confidence and this turned out to be my spring skirt.  Dead simple, no manipulation of the block beyond tapering the sides slightly to turn it into a pencil skirt.  I’ve worn this skirt a lot, it’s comfortable and pretty and exactly the sort of thing I expected to  be making when I started sewing.

This week I’ve been further playing with my blocks, but I’ll leave that for the next post

So 4 out of the 6 goals completed and 2 to do.  I hope you’ll agree that it’s not bad for 5 months of the year.

7 thoughts on “Report card

  1. Goodness. Goals met and in May? I’m scared of goals and plans when sewing so I’m rather in awe of you right now :).

    Very pretty skirt too BTW – fabric is gorgeous and very summery.

Leave a Reply

