All in a spin…

Does is ever happen to you?

I put on my skirt for work in the morning, perform my usual commute and when I get to the office it has somehow spun round so the back is now facing forward with the fabric twisted up around my thighs and several inches more of leg on display than I’d prefer.

I should explain my skirts are part of a suit and are generally straight or pencil skirts. They are usually made of wool or a wool mix and fully lined. I wear them over tights and, whilst I am commuting, comfortable shoes. I carry shoulder bags which rub against my side and may contribute to the problem. The issue happens whether I am wearing a coat or not.

I’d love to know what causes this and how I could stop it from happening. Is it a fit problem or is it caused by something else? Is there anything I can do to prevent it?

15 thoughts on “All in a spin…

  1. This is a rather, um, nostalgic question. When I was younger my skirts did the same little turnabout routine numerous times throughout the day. This was before I seriously started sewing for myself, so all the waists were a bit large to accommodate my hip:waist ratio. I was taught that models clothes always fit 1 to 2 inches larger than their waist measurements, and a proper fitting skirt should not actually sit at the waist, but hang from the hips. So this looseness in the waist never bothered me. But the question is a good one. In comparing my measurements with pattern company’s ease measurements, I see that a 2 inch difference is pretty standard. Maybe I’ll try making up my next skirt that way instead of having it fit my waist snugly and see how I like it the look.

    • Most of my work skirts (I’m ashamed to say they are all bought rather than hand sewn) are a little on the large side. I tend to go up a size rather than down if I am in-between, particularly if it’s something I am going to wear to work. I have noticed that the skirt I made with my block (cotton, straight skirt, fully lined) so far has not started twisting, so maybe there is something in the fit which stops it from happening.

  2. I have a vague recollection of someone mentioning somewhere (yep, really, really vague) that skirts spinning around could be due to having one hip slightly higher than the other. This could be down to bone structure, or posture due to always carrying a heavy bag on one shoulder, or carrying a child on one hip.

  3. My skirts (the straight ones) do this as well. Interestingly, not so much the gathered and/or pleated ones. ?? I wonder if ReadyThreadSew is onto something there, as I do have one shoulder lower than the other, so likely the hip is lower on that side as well.

  4. Annoying as this is, even more annoying is that this syndrome hasn’t yet got a name. Skirt spin? Skirt-creep? Skirt-walk? About time someone ‘addressed’ (sorry) the issue. I tend to experience this when carrying a bag and I do have one hip bigger than the other so don’t know which is to blame.

    The answer is dresses. Or bulldog clips attaching the skirt to tights. Neither is ideal really….

    • I vote for skirt-spin, but yes you are right it is annoying that the syndrome hasn’t properly been recognised and named.

      Dresses are the answer but not always so easy in the morning (I can put a suit and blouse on in my sleep but for some reason dresses take a lot more thought). I’m not sure bull-dog clips really purvey the image I’m after…..

  5. Skirt spin. Yeah I like that one. I used to get that when I had a shoulder bag or was carrying something heavy in my hand so that the skirt was literally dragged slowly around with each step. It happened with any skirt – full, pencil, short, long etc. Now I wear jeans. A. Lot. So don’t have a problem lol. Not sure that’s a good solution for you though!

  6. Haha, yes, the phenomenon of the evil, self-rotating skirt… hmmm, tricky. I find that a more loose-fitting pencil skirt does it more than a tighter fitting one, and if I am carrying a bag that is rubbing against my hip as I walk; are both factors that exacerbate the problem 🙂

Leave a Reply

