Top 5 Misses 2012

So moving on to my Top 5 Misses

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAAt number one has to be my jasmine blouse. I’m still not sure why I even started this one. The style is really not me; far too girly, and the fit is a million miles from anything like my body. Half of me doesn’t want to be defeated so I may take it out again and try to sort out the fit but the other half just wants to forget about even attempting it.

At number two is another top (perhaps there’s a pattern here); the grainline woven tee. I knew this wouldn’t suit me, so why did I even try. Fortunately it was only an afternoon and a small piece of scrap fabric that got used.

Thirdly and most disappointingly were a pair of trousers I tried to make with my trouser block. Despite having had the block fitted the crotch curve is still not quite right. I think I know what to do about fit but need to find the time to play with it.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAFourthly the Twisty skirt from Burda March 2012. I made a linen version which hasn’t been worn at all. Not sure why, maybe I just need a new top to go with it. I also made a wool version which I love but also doesn’t get worn, possibly because of a “blue stocking” comment I received. I think the problem with these skirts is that they are just not sexy enough.

Lastly, I should mention my failure to finish Vogue 8413. There is no reason for my not having finished it apart from a lack of focus, laziness and general excitement at getting caught up in other new projects!

Leave a Reply

