Top 5 Hits of 2012

I’ve been inspired by all the sewing blogs running reviews of the last year and shamelessly decided to copy Sew Busy Lizzie’s and give you my Top 5 of 2012. So starting with the hits…….

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAAt number one has to be the triangles dress I made from February’s Burda. This dress is flattering and smart enough to wear to work but is as comfortable and warm (with a sweater underneath) as a large woolly jumper. We all have days when we’d rather stay under the duvet than go to work; Well on those days this is what I wear. The best thing is that it always makes me feel good about myself and people often make nice comments about it.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAAt number two is the Wiksten Tova dress. I was a bit hesitant to put this in because I tried to make a second and had some fitting issues due to differences in fabric (now resolved fortunately although I haven’t finished the dress yet!). This first dress, however, got worn and worn during the summer. It looked smart with leggings, with capris and with jeans. On colder days I put a sweater underneath and on warmer days it was loose enough to feel comfortable. If you want to find the pattern you can see it here.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERANumber three has to be the Pattern Runway Easy Kimono Dress.. I made three of these during the year, my favourite probably has to be the one I made for Christmas out of a bird patterned Crepe de Chine. The one that got worn the most was the summer version. My work version gets worn occasionally but if I’m honest I don’t really like the fabric (polka dot poly-georgette)

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAFourth has to be a skirt. I made several skirts this year many of which were worn a lot. I think my Vogue 1247 will probably become my favourite skirt but as I’ve only just made this I’ve decided not to put it in. My first Beignet has been worn a lot and was quite a challenge to make. I particularly love the orange buttons and the grey linen fabric I used. I lined this skirt (and the subsequent one) with cotton poplin which in retrospect was a mistake as it drags against anything I’m wearing underneath. If I make another I’ll use a shinier fabric.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERALast but not least has to be my red version of New Look 6000. Technically I made this in 2011 but I wasn’t really very happy with it and didn’t wear it much. I recently made some small but significant alterations and now it’s one of my favourites!

2 thoughts on “Top 5 Hits of 2012

Leave a Reply

