Pyjama trousers

I had my last pattern drafting lesson this week and now I have perfectly fitted blocks for a skirt, bodice and pair of trousers. I’ve had a play with designing a skirt but haven’t done anything with the bodice block as yet. As it’s winter and gets awfully cold at night I thought I’d make a start on using the trouser block by making a pair of PJ trousers.

To make the pattern I cut each leg as one by joining the front and back pieces which created the wide leg shape I wanted. I also dropped the crotch slightly and replaced the darts with an elastic aged waist band.

The fabric is a lovely soft brushed cotton from Truro fabrics. Trousers are very economical to make and I only used 1.3m

I’m happy with the result but perhaps next time I’ll add a little ease across the hips or use a stretchier fabric.

20121104-204247.jpg

6 thoughts on “Pyjama trousers

Leave a Reply

