Burda

I sometimes wonder why I buy Burda every month.  Each issue seems to have at least one thing (and usually several things) I want to sew and as it takes me forever to complete the simplest garment I am constantly getting more and more behind.

I know several bloggers have expressed some dissatisfaction with Burda but I love it.  A lot of the clothes are exactly the style I would like to sew and wear. Some months are better than others but for £4.75 a month it’s very good value and even if I don’t want to make anything in that month’s issue I know there will be something good the following month.  Personally I haven’t found the instructions too difficult to follow, they are quite sparse but even as a novice I can see that most garments are made up in roughly the same manner so once you’ve made a few clothes you can sort of work out what’s coming next.  Having said that I haven’t made anything really complicated as yet and maybe once I get around to doing so I will find them more difficult.

One of the things I love about Burda is the way you can see the full potential of a good pattern as they will often make up the same garment a number of different ways i.e. in different fabrics or lengths.  Making minor changes can give a completely different look. Another thing I enjoy is looking through the instructions and checking out the pattern shapes.  I find this really helps me understand how some of the more obscure shapes are created.

I was going to use the post to review the October Burda magazine but it seems to have turned into a bit of a love letter.  I’ll try to find the time to post details of what I liked in this months edition next week.

13 thoughts on “Burda

  1. I’m very fond of Burda too, and I also have the problem of not being able to keep up with the things I want to make. October was an interesting issue so I’m looking forward to your review.

    • I’m glad I’m not the only one who has problems keeping up! Hopefully I’ll get to the review later in the week. Having to go to work is a bit of a problem when I need to update my blog and keep on top of my sewing and knitting!

  2. I’m with you; I absolutely love Burda magazine too. I don’t buy it each month, just one or maybe two a year, but I usually manage to make four or five things from each issue that I do get.

  3. There seems to be a lot of anti Burda sentiment in blogland lately, including one blogger putting together a petition demanding changes.. So I was happy to read your post. I like Burda magazine too, I often go back to old issues and make garments years later. And you mentioned they often make up the same pattern in different ways. I find that so inspiring and am actually using a Burda magazine pattern from last year to make two very different version of the same jacket for a local sewing guild challenge called “One pattern, two looks”

    • Yes I must admit to seeing that petition and I thought it rather negative. Most of the changes being asked for sounded like they would add to the cost of the magazine which would rather defeat the purpose.

      I’m looking forward to seeing your jacket made up in two ways!

  4. Pingback: Top 5 Inspiration 2012 | Jane's Sew & Tell

Leave a Reply

