July Burda

Amazing that it’s the July edition already! I suspect this issue is a slow burner, nothing spectacular but several patterns for separates that might prove useful.  Having worn only t-shirts for most of my life I’ve recently decided that I should try to wear more casual blouses made out of woven fabrics; not only do they look more stylish but they tend not to get as tatty quite so fast.

Burda 117-07-2012  I think this is very pretty and would look nice tucked in as well as out.  Some longer sleeves would also look good.

Burda 110-07-2012  A lovely classic shirt I particularly like the fabric they have made it in. The description says it is a Liberty Batiste.

Burda 113 – this may be a bit fussy as it has lots of (unnecessary?) seams

Burda 114-07-2012. Nice sleeves but the body has no shaping so may look at bit boxy

Burda 108-07-2012  I like the tie with it’s floppy bow

Burda 116-07-2012 A similar shape to 117 above

Incidentally this issue has lots to “useful tips” about how to cover upper arms, small bulges and flabby thighs (is it the first time this has happened?  I can’t remember seeing similar tips in previous issues).  I must admit I find this a bit off-putting; I don’t want to make something because it covers up some of the less salubrious bits of my body, I want to make things that are stylish and look good on me.

Burda 131-07-2012

Dress 131 also caught my eye as it’s very similar to LK Bennett’s Davina dress,  which has been a mainstay of their collection for the last couple of years and looks very sexy on almost everyone.  When I saw the picture I assumed it was made of a crepe or similar but actually it’s been made out of seersucker.  Actually I’m a bit puzzled about seersucker as I thought this was a thinnish cotton material with puckered stripes running through it, suitable for lightweight summer shirts and so on.  Sometimes you see references to seersucker suits in American novels and the slapdash seamstress referred to a seersucker social recently.  Does seersucker mean something different in American? I think American muslin is nearer to what I would call calico than English muslin which is a very light cloth and dupion seems to get called dupioni elsewhere.

Dress 109 – colour blocking and a bow!

Lastly I also liked dress 109 which looks very similar to something you might find in Cos (even the colours are right).  If the weather warms up I might make this!

Many of the plus size dresses are also lovely, but as I can’t fit into them and have no pattern grading skills I’ve chosen to pretend they don’t exist.

3 thoughts on “July Burda

  1. I want 131 for the same reasons you do: much like the Roland Mouret Galaxy dress (or V8280), it has become a modern classic. I noticed it on Kate Middleton and loved it. This is close enough though I have a Lekala pattern that is even closer. And seersucker is exactly what you think it is. I haven’t received this issue yet but it does sounds a little surprising to me too. I do know that there are varying thicknesses of seersucker. I personally have at least 3 types in my stash. But I’m considering a piece of coral faille for the 131. Definitely requires a muslin, especially necklines in Burda, what are these Germans thinking??!?!?

  2. Yes I agree it definitely needs a muslin – the LK Bennett assistants recommend you buy the Davina dress a little on the tight side with almost no ease at the waist. This dress looks like it would need the same treatment.

    • Good to know. Will make a note on my pattern. But it’s logical, so the pleats can be displayed to full effect. I think I need to buy a fabric close to the faille. It’s precious to me both because of the color and the fact that I had no idea this fabric weave existed before I bought it online!!!

Leave a Reply

