Twisty skirt

Officially I’m supposed to be making my pencil skirt, and I was working on it but I had a problem with the fit. Have you ever found this? The toile is fine but for some reason it’s coming out too big in the actual fabric. I think the difference is that I used a rather stiff calico for the toile where as the final skirt will be in a drapey wool. It actually needs about 5cm to come out around the hips (waist is fine) so it’s quite a big difference. Anyway rather than do the adult thing and spend a bit of time fixing it I decided to throw a sulk and start a new project.

This is from the latest Burda magazine (128-03-2012) and I made it out of a fine linen bought from John Lewis last week. When I first read the instructions I couldn’t work out how it went together so in the end I just went through it doing everything I was told to do without question! To make matters worse I didn’t make a toile so I just had to trust I was doing it correctly as I went along. Actually the instructions were fine, a bit complicated and it would have helped to have had pictures, but if you follow exactly what they suggest it works out. The only thing they could have added was a bit of information about when to neaten the edges on the yoke. I put mine together and then took it apart and zig-zagged around the edges, before putting it together again as otherwise I would have ended up with a nasty mess of fraying in the centre.

Anyway I love this skirt and think it will get a lot of use in the summer (2 degrees here today so maybe not quite yet). I’m not certain that adding the pockets was necessary, because the front is fairly full they end up slightly too far back in the skirt to be comfortable for putting your hands in. I not a great user of pockets at the best of times so may be its just me!

It was so quick I am thinking of making another one in wool. If I do that I will leave out the pockets and perhaps make the twist in the centre less complicated. I think it will look nice if I just apply the inner waistband flat rather than put the additional twist in it the last step calls for. That way I can add a lining so it will make a good winter skirt.

8 thoughts on “Twisty skirt

  1. That’s a cool skirt! I really like it. Nice fabric, too. Roughly how much fabric does it call for? I’d like a go at this one. I just can’t get my head around the tracing.

    Re your pencil skirt: at least you have figured out what has caused the problem. That is half the problem solved!

    • Thank you Alice. It only took 1.3m of fabric and there were only 4 pieces of pattern to trace. I use brown parcel paper laid on the table, with a layer of carbon paper over that and then the pattern pieces on top, I then trace using a knitting needle. It’s a bit time consuming but as I love the Burda patterns I think worth the effort.

      Thank you also for your encouraging comments re the pencil skirt – I’ll try to find time at the weekend to have another go at it!

  2. Your version looks great, very similar to the magazine – hope you get to wear it soon. I didn’t realise that the instructions say to twist the inside waistband as well, I stopped reading them once my outside front was done!

    • Thank you! I don’t think I’ll be wearing it too soon as it’s definitely a skirt for summer – which feels like a long way off at present.

      I think you were right to stop reading the instructions! Yours looks so much neater than mine. If (when) I make another one I’m going to ignore the twist to the inside waistband.

  3. It is 100% wool so your warning is apt. I have steamed it however and will probably only get the final skirt dry cleaned rather than wash it. I wouldn’t normally wash wool skirts, particularly if they have a lining, but I have always bought wool skirts in the past never made them. Do you think there is still a potential shrinkage issue with dry cleaning?

  4. Pingback: Winter twisty skirt | Jane's Sew & Tell

  5. Pingback: Top 5 Misses 2012 | Jane's Sew & Tell

Leave a Reply

